1. There will be three examinations namely, Quarterly, Half Yearly and Final for classes I to V and two summative examination and as many formative examinations as deemed necessary for classes VI to X during the academic year.
  2. Students absenting themselves from any of these examinations or tests are not re-examined, whatever may be the reason. Class projects are to be submitted on the fixed day, failing which the projects may not be accepted.
  3. 3. The rules of the examinations are final and will not be re-considered.
  4. A pupil who fails twice in the same class shall not be allowed to continue in the school under any circumstances.
  5. If a student does not appear at the main examinations he/she will be considered to have failed except account of sickness, subject to the discretion of the Principal.
  6. A pupil may not be allowed to sit in the Annual Examination if he/she has not put in a minium of 75% of the attendance at the end of the academic session.
  7. Report of conduct and progress are issued at the end of each examination and are shown to parents and guardians on a day fixed by the principal. The report should be returned on the following day duly signed by the parent or guardian. If the pupil fails to bring the report duly signed he/she will be sent home forth with. In this case the school disclaims all responsibility.
  8. If any student is found cheating during the examinations the student will not be permitted to continue writing the exam. The particular exam will be cancelled for the student

The examination and promotion policy is in accordance with the latest CBSE pattern of learning and assessment termed Continuous and Comprehensive Evaluation (CCE). As per the new scheme, the academic year is divided into two terms.

First Term -April to September
Second Term -October to March

Each of the terms will have two types of assessments called for the Formative Assessment (FA) and Summative Assessment (SA). For the Formative Assessments, the teachers will rely on a variety of assessment tools and methods like unit tests , class tests, oral tests, projects, quizzes, group activities etc. The Summative Assessments will be in the form of the traditional written examination at end of each term. Thus there will be four Formative Assessments (FA 1,FA 2,FA3, FA 4) and two Summative Assessments (SA 1, SA 2) in an academic year. Students will be awarded only grades and not marks at the end of the school is essential to secure a higher grade. The Nine point grading system for all academic subjects.

A1 91% - 100%
A2 81% - 90%
B1 71% - 80%
B2 61% - 70%
C1 51% - 60%
C2 41% - 50%
D 33% - 40%
E1 21% - 32%
E2 00% - 20%

A student who has obtained grade E1 or E2 in one or more subjects excluding additional subjects may be allowed to improve his/her performance in the Second Summative Assessment through subsequent ONE ATTEMPT. He/She would not be eligible for promotion to next class if he/she doesn't obtain grade D.

For students of class X the existing C.B.S.E. rules regarding promotion will continue.

Copyright © 2010-11 St. Pauls Sr. Secondary School. All Rights Reserved.